Who We Are

About Us » Who We Are

Our Team


Ally Spongr, Interim Director

As the Interim Director of the Heritage Center, Ally provides dynamic leadership to the Center’s operations, fundraising, exhibitions and initiatives. Through her work, Ally takes a creative approach to ensuring the successful implementation of the Center’s mission and vision. With a background in fine arts, history, museums and arts administration, Ally brings enthusiasm for the advancement of Niagara’s cultural assets and dedication to local community.


Christine Bacon, Interim Director of Education

As the Interim Director of Education, Chris ensures that the Center's themes of freedom, resistance, and social justice resonate with visitors through engaging tours and programs. With a background in law, public history, and historical interpretation, Chris brings a passion for making the past relevant today.

Team Website Emily 5

Emily Ebba Reynolds, Director of Marketing

As the Director of Marketing, Emily ensures that the Heritage Center's mission and values are expressed clearly and thoughtfully in everything we do. She brings over ten years of museum experience across the country to her position at the Heritage Center. 


Saladin Allah, Visitor Experience Specialist



Christina Beauvoir, Visitor Experience Specialist

As a Visitor Experience Specialist, Christina ensures that the stories of freedom seekers are told. Her experience as the child of Haitian immigrants led her to obtain her undergraduate degree in international studies and romance languages, as well as her Masters Degree in Criminal Justice Administration. Student activism in Christina's college career made her hyper-aware of oppression in everyday instances, and working at the Heritage Center allows her to make that connection with visitors.


Caitlin Blue, Visitor Experience Specialist

As a Visitor Experience Specialist, Caitlin is focused on making history accessible to the public with community based events and education. With a hands on approach, Caitlin utilizes her skills to unite the community in an effort to create and sustain long lasting relationships between the museum and the surrounding area. Caitlin's love for history and experience in social justice work has inspired her to connect, collaborate, and communicate effectively with the public.


Mike Broccolo, Visitor Experience Specialist


Team Website Deirdre

Deirdre Reynolds, Visitor Services Coordinator

Deirdre is a Western New York transplant and SUNY Buffalo State graduate with a lifelong passion for history.  As a Visitor Experience Specialist, she works to ensure that every visitor leaves feeling as much passion about historical figures and their stories as she does, and strives to make sure every visitor has an experience that is impactful and lasting.

Team Website Sara

Sara Capen, Advisor and Executive Director, Niagara Falls National Heritage Area


Board of Directors


Bill Bradberry, Chairman & President
President and Chairman of the Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Commission and Columnist, Niagara Gazette


Charles A. Walker, Vice Chair
Community Health Advocate, Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center 


Denise Easterling, MsEd, Treasurer
Owner/Operator of Underground Railroad Tours by Denise 


Thomas J. DeSantis, AICP, Secretary
Acting Director of Planning, Environmental Services, and Economic Development for the City of Niagara Falls, New York


Mark A. Onesi
Adjunct Professor of Business at Medaille College & SUNY Erie & Niagara County Industrial Development Agency – Vice Chairperson & Finance Committee Chair


Tricia Mezhir
General Manager Comfort Inn The Pointe, Niagara Falls


Percy W. Abrams, PhD
Professor of Native American and Indigenous Studies and Director at Certificate in Iroquois Linguistics, Syracuse University